top of page

gender week

Gender Week greeted UWCT with multi-coloured decorations around campus as well as thought-provoking events that generated enriching discussions. It was a huge success, in terms of educating the community on issues surrounding this topic as well as guiding us to understand to what extent gender equality in all respects is present in our own as well as each other’s communities.

There were an array of events arranged, ranging from presentations to activities to panel discussions. On Monday evening we had an activity called the privilege line. We met at the field next to the pirate ship, and everyone stood in a line holding hands. When a statement was said, we would take a step forward if we possessed the privilege or step backward if we experienced the inequality stated. It was eye-opening (actually though once we physically opened our eyes) to see that although we all started off in the same position on the line, some of us ended up pretty far away from others. I had never noticed the extent of discrimination and inequality in my country until compared to the more progressive countries, which I had previously thought Malaysia was on par with until then.

On Tuesday we had presentations of the status of gender equality in SEA, which was held in the amphitheatre. This provided me with another excellent learning opportunity as I discovered the disparity between genders, but also heartwarming to see Malaysia this year recognise the problem and placing additional emphasis on the issue. It was interesting to hear stories from other neighbouring countries and share the similarities and differences in our experiences.

Concepts of masculinity and males were challenged during a panel discussion on Thursday, as questions from members of the community were collected prior to the event and posed to the 6 members of the panel, consisting of the Head of School, 2 teachers and 3 students. It was compelling to listen to the various perspectives each individual had to offer, and how their cultural backgrounds possibly influenced their perceptions, as well as expectations, of masculinity today.

After dinner on Thursday, students gathered in the MPH for the Vagina Monologues, a series of monologues aimed to address the taboo on female sexuality, especially in relation to vaginas and women’s rights to feel comfortable however they like instead of conforming to society’s expectations of beauty. The evening was thought-provoking, leaving audience members questioning how certain ideas had formed in our minds, making a conscious decision to respect the choices of others and appreciate them no matter what.

Vagina Monologues (pictures by Benjamin Wright)

Thursday also saw members of the community parading into school in outfits completely contrasting the uniform policy, what one can only imagine to be a disciplinary nightmare. But no, it was an exception. It was International Women’s Day, a day to celebrate all the women in our lives and a focal point for the women’s rights movement. We were told to dress up as a woman who inspired us, so I went as my amma - the strongest woman I know. Sitting at meals and hearing the story behind people’s outfits was enlightening, listening to the impact some of these people had made on people’s lives.

Throughout this week, I gained a great appreciation and personally learnt so much about my rights, not just as an individual but also a female in my country. I noticed the bubble I had lived in my whole life and the number of people outside of it that have been living at an unfair disadvantage for their whole lives. However, the knowledge I acquired this week was not limited solely to my country, but also about the influence of others’ cultures on their rights, as well as perceptions and expectations within society as we know it.

Below is an article I wrote on gender equality in Malaysia for the Gender Week magazine.

 

Making Moves in Malaysia

The government has made it mandatory to have 30% women involved in the decision-making process in the corporate sector.

The government has increased the number of maternity leave days for mothers.

The government has set up more day centres to allow women to return to work quicker after maternity leave.

The government has set aside RM20 million for female entrepreneurs.

But is this really enough? Yes it’s a step in the right direction, but for a country that boasts for having one of South-East Asia’s most vibrant economies, we are behind poorer ASEAN nations including the Philippines and Laos in terms of bridging gender equality gap. As of now women make up only 10% of the total number of Members of Parliament (MP).

I’ve personally always felt equal to my male friends, and I think I have my upbringing to thank for that. I grew up in a house where my mum and dad saw each other as equals. They both held down a job and were both expected to bring in money to support the family, there was never an additional expectation or responsibility on either. In school I was always given equal opportunities as my male friends.

However I also grew up in a privileged society and family surrounded by rather progressive individuals. I can’t say the same for some of my other friends. I had friends who would get picked up by their mum’s and driven to tuition and extra-curricular activities while their dad’s came home at 8pm expecting food to be on the table and everything in place for him before he goes to bed. I had friends whose mums were stuck in the marriage because they were not financially strong enough to leave. I had friends who’s mums walked around with designer bags, all bought by their dad. And in no way am I saying it’s wrong or how they should spend their money as each person is entitled to spend it however they please, but is it really okay when their children begin thinking it’s okay to not work as hard because I could end up like mum one day?

Passing remarks like “I’ll just marry a rich, handsome guy” are common among my friends as a joke if they fail an exam, but the more it’s said the more I think about to what extent we are allowing this to be acceptable. As though we as a society are creating this safety net for girls to fall back on and in a way not have to worry about working as hard as the guys because they’ll be there to support you later anyways.

I honestly think at the end of the day it boils down to the culture we raise our children in at home. It’s so important that children see their parents as equal, that we remove that expectation for mother’s to take care of the children once they’re born but rather be an option or personal choice, not just for the mother but for the father too! It’s important that our daughters know the value of education and independence, never being in a position in their lives where they have to rely on someone else to support themselves. It’s important we not just change our policies but also our mentalities, because once we see women as true equals at the core of our being and actually treat them as such, that’s when we achieve equality.

Our Prime Minister has made 2018 the year for women’s empowerment, and I think it’s important to remember - our society is not free until our women are free.

bottom of page